top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Bee Beard

Comic Catch Up #1

This comic journey started properly in 2021 after graduating university, but for the first part of the trek was bumpy.


What I did

For the pilot was instead of writing a brief summary of the episode I had written 3 full pages of what goes on and as for the script, after editing the bejesus out of it, ended up being 14 pages with notes of what is going on it the scene.


Reflection

The script is expected to be long if there is a lot of dialogue and I didn't mind that, but at the end of writing the pilot, and drawing several thumbnails, I was exhausted, and still wasn't happy with it. And the thought of having to write pages upon pages repeatedly for however many episodes for this story seemed like an impossible task.


Solution

Looking at the self-made mountain before me, I though to look at how others write comics and came across a YouTube video by the channel "Draw and Talk", the two part series that I watched was mainly about writing the comic script but in the first part spoke about what needs to happen before the script.


I took notes and began the next steps.


What I am doing now

I discarded the thought of having to write loads and stuck to writing short summaries of episodes, keeping the scene descriptions and character interaction in the script as 'scene notes'.


There is still a mountain to climb but it's a bit easier now with oxygen and safety ropes.


The next issue I am facing is undefined characters.

Oh boy.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page